Paths of Life

Nervously, I stand, hands to the back of the road

Birds melodically chirping in my ear,

I pace, feet beginning to corrode 

Until the shot. I looked to my rear.

 

Bullets had pierced everything:

Plants, cars, humans. Everything now silent; 

Clouds, dark skies, shadows – 

The signs of a terrifying riot.

 

My feet lay apart, assessing the situation,

Silent was the road, myself and corpses.

Birds have disappeared,

Nothing left of the sun except a colourless

Ball of stone. 

 

I stand in amazement on the dark road, 

Sounds of sirens piercing my ear. 

I think of running, all corpses beginning to erode, 

My hands drop the gun – 

I run away in fear. 

Leave a Reply

